Sunday , February 17 2019
Home / Scholarships / 24-year-old Nigerian Doctor Toluwalase Awoyemi Emerges Winner of the 2018 Rhodes Scholarships

24-year-old Nigerian Doctor Toluwalase Awoyemi Emerges Winner of the 2018 Rhodes Scholarships

– A 24-year-old Nigerian doctor, Toluwalase Awoyemi has emerged the winner of the 2018 Rhodes Scholarships.

Ike Chioke, National Secretary for West Africa flanked by Toluwalase Awoyemi (L) and Emmanuelle Dankwa (R) at the presentation of the 2018 Rhodes Scholarships for West Africa Awardees

It is yet another proud moment for Nigeria as a 24-year-old Nigerian doctor, Toluwalase Awoyemi came on top as the the 2018 Rhodes Scholarships.

Toluwalase is said to have graduated in August 2016 as the Best Medical Student in his set and hold a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (M.B.B.S.) degree from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. He won the award alongside a 20-year-old Ghanaian Statistician, Emmanuelle Dankwa.

They both will commence studies at the prestigious University of Oxford, United Kingdom in October next year together with 93 other “scholar-elect” from other parts of the country .

Out of the 2,948 applications received from intending scholars across the world, Toluwalase and Emmanuelle were selected to be among the 15 most qualified candidates that made the final cut and eventually emerged winners.

According to Ndidi Nwuneli, a member of the West Africa Selection Committee, it was a keenly contested award. He said, “All fifteen finalists were remarkably brilliant with outstanding individual qualities but we could only select two. For Emmanuelle and Toluwalase, this is an award well deserved, and we have no doubt that they will go on to excel in their chosen field of study and do the continent proud.”

Toluwalase made Nigeria proud indeed and Students Nigeria wishes him success in all his future endeavors.

Recommended Link: How To Get Scholarships To Study Abroad Without Wasting Time


About Emmanuel Peter

Check Also

NNPC/Total National Merit scholarship

Get N150,000 Per Academic Year: NNPC/Total National Merit Scholarship Award 2018/2019

Entries are invited from suitably qualified Nigerians to the NNPC/Total National Merit scholarship award for the 2018/2019 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *